Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Buyers seeing previous purchaser's details

Buyers seeing previous purchaser's details 3 years 6 months ago #3992

• scottjoseph
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
I've been using CMGroupBuying for several years. I recently offered a deal that was very popular and caused more traffic than usual, and something went terribly wrong with the process. To begin, I had set the maximum number that buyers could purchase to three, but the component was allowing buyers to put in any number they wished. My webmaster changed the code to limit the drop-down box to three max.
But then I started hearing from buyers who clicked on the deal and saw the information fields pre-filled with the names and addresses for previous buyers. These purchasers reported to me that they tried to change erase the fields and put in their own information but could not. PayPal processed the transaction -- and took their money -- but the component assigned the same order number as the previous buyer or an order number one or two higher -- in either case, the buyer did not receive a link to the certificate.
Needless to say this caused a great deal of distress, not to mention damage to my reputation as a merchant. Have you encountered this problem before, and can it be fixed?
My version of CMgroup is 2.8.0.
Thank you. Scott
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Buyers seeing previous purchaser's details 3 years 6 months ago #3993

• hungtran
  • Thank you received: 245
Hi Scott,

I haven't seen any problems like this. If you have enabled cache of Joomla or any other cache extension, you can try to disable them to see if the problem is gone.

CMGroupBuying asks Joomla to not cache it by default, you can check your components/com_cmgroupbuying/controller.php to ensure that $cachable is not set to "true". However, third party cache extensions may try to cache everything.